Call Us Today! (360) 893-6426

Proudly serving Orting, WA and the surrounding area since 2000

Our Credentials

  • License ID: BSRCO**904OP (General Contractor)

Accepting

<c:out value='Visa'/><c:out value='MasterCard'/>

Our Reviews

Overall Verified Testimonial Score

4.80

Composite Score

Quality

Customer Service

Value

Review Date: 01/23/2021 | Author: Beverly F.

Comments: Great people to work with. They listen to you, understand your vision, respectfully provide their knowledge. They create your idea but, better than what you had in mind.

Review Date: 11/27/2020 | Author: Tracy P.

Comments: Great Company to work with. The cost was lower then my other estimates even when the budget was higher then estimated, and still gave me a discount for my Military service. It took a little longer then expected, but was a big job. I am extremely happy with the end product.

Review Date: 07/10/2020 | Author: Lisa C.

Comments: On time/honest/reliable &amp; great workmanship

Review Date: 06/05/2020 | Author: Steve F.

Comments: Solid work done in a timely manner. Very happy with the finished product, and pleased with the price.

Review Date: 01/14/2020 | Author: Dean F.

Comments: Jim knows his stuff, we got the quote quickly, it was competitive i checked BBB ratings and home advisor ratings and hired BSR for our project and we re happy we did. We d definitely recommend them to friends, family, anyone the guys were professional and take pride in their work

Review Date: 12/08/2019 | Author: Raymond M.

Comments: no comment provided

Review Date: 08/30/2019 | Author: Michael M.

Comments: I highly recommend BSR Construction, they did a great job excavating and installing a retaining wall for me. The bid came in very affordable and did an excellent job

Review Date: 08/05/2019 | Author: Jim D.

Comments: Boss man Jim, Jose and Jonathon were very attentive to the details of the project, incorporated helpful design elements and executed the work in a timely manner. Jose and Jonathon kept the jobsite clean and organized, picked up at the end of the day and were very accommodating as we have multiple pups between the two homes the work was being done. The wall looks great and I am using Jim&amp;#39;s services for more projects.

Review Date: 05/25/2019 | Author: Autumn W.

Comments: We had a great experience with Jim and the crew! They installed a retaining wall in our backyard, and had all the right tools and the best attitude. Very professional. My two year old son loved watching them work and made new friends! Would definitely recommend Jim and his crew. Looking forward to working with them in the future!

Review Date: 10/04/2018 | Author: Daryl B.

Comments: Jim and the team at BSR construction were AWESOME! From the initial visit, Jim took the time to discuss the project with us. Based on those discussions we made many changes before they even started. Jim had some great ideas and really helped us see what the wall could look like. BSR employees Callan and Joe were great to work with. Once the project got going we would discuss the project with them as well. They were more then willing to make any changes on the fly. They also contributed some great ideas to the project. This was a big project for us. Working with BSR construction made it so much easier and with no stress.! We are extremely happy with BSR and our retaining wall. My wife and I would highly recommend BSR Construction. Wall looks AMAZING!

Review Date: 09/12/2018 | Author: Cynthia R.

Comments: Jim and his crew were awesome and prompt. We were open to suggestions for our retaining wall and planting beds. Kellen was extremely creative in building the Great Wall of Ryan¯. We are so happy.

Review Date: 09/11/2018 | Author: Brenda P.

Comments: Very professional, excellent workmanship and communication. If we need anymore work done in the future, they’d be the company that I’d contact.

Review Date: 08/22/2018 | Author: Sarah B.

Comments: Jim was great, the plan was quickly arranged, they came when they said they would, the guys were quiet and courteous while they worked! The project looks amazing, couldn’t have asked for a better outcome, or a better company to work with!

Review Date: 06/15/2018 | Author: Kathy K.

Comments: Jim, the owner, communicates well, had great suggestions for our project, and gave a fair price. The BSR Construction workers, Callan and Joe, started on time every day and worked full days until the job was done. They made suggestions on the design, that we accepted, which gave the project a spectacular look. We highly recommend BSR Construction.

Review Date: 03/17/2018 | Author: Greg S.

Comments: Super Job on the retaining walls, Jim and team thank you for the design and craftsmanship.

Review Date: 03/15/2018 | Author: Wendy B.

Review Date: 01/24/2018 | Author: Mary A.

Comments: Great work, good team (Peachy and Chris). Got the job done in just a week. Jim offered design suggestions and they really went above and beyond to create a beautiful cottage garden retaining wall. As a newcommer to the area as well as a retired military spouse, Jim and his team earned my trust. Mary A. in Tacoma, WA

Review Date: 09/20/2017 | Author: Matthew B.

Comments: Good work, good employees, good communication. Fair price. Would use again.

Review Date: 04/27/2017 | Author: Randy A.

Comments: The best quality and workmanship around! Hire them and let them use their knowledge and creativity to transform your yard! I was so impressed with a project they did for me a couple years ago I hired them for a second project.

Review Date: 04/23/2017 | Author: a Neighbor

Review Date: 04/11/2017 | Author: Brian C.

Comments: Completely transformed our backyard, Project came in at budget and ahead of schedule. Thanks for everything!

Review Date: 03/21/2017 | Author: Carl Z.

Comments: They worked hard, fast and got the job done quickly and very well. We are very pleased with the work.

Review Date: 03/07/2017 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Very knowledgeable. Jim was able to transform my vision into a workable plan. Once the work began, the communication of the job progress was outstanding. The job was completed within the timeframe. I am very happy with the quality of the work. I am pleased to recommend BSR Construction to all.

Review Date: 12/12/2016 | Author: Mark S.

Comments: Jim and his team did a great job building my retaining wall and installing a cobblestone walkway; completed on-time. on-budget and the workmanship looks great! Jim was a pleasure to work with and I will certainly call him first the next time I need a path built or a retaining wall extended.

Review Date: 08/27/2016 | Author: Eric S.

Comments: Very professional and hardworking . They made my back yard beautiful.

Review Date: 08/12/2016 | Author: Scott S.

Comments: Jim and his crew did a fantastic job on our backyard retaining wall. They made the backyard usable, we love it.

Review Date: 06/14/2016 | Author: Renee B.

Comments: Great customer service

Review Date: 05/27/2016 | Author: Phillip R.

Comments: They went the &quot;extra mile&quot; and did some extra work not part of the contract.

Review Date: 05/12/2016 | Author: Ben B.

Comments: Jim is a good guy and his crew knows what they are doing. Jim was on time, on budget and the quality was great. Completely transformed my yard in 2 weeks.

Review Date: 05/11/2016 | Author: Gordon K.

Comments: On time, considerate of existing tree roots, cleaned up after &amp; finished ahead of schedule!

Review Date: 05/06/2016 | Author: To M.

Comments: Jim and his crew have plenty of years building walls. They are rock heads. He has 4x4 powered wheelbarrows which save on man power, increase efficiency, and look cool. These tools made managing my project much easier.

Review Date: 04/24/2016 | Author: Danita W.

Comments: Jim was awesome! Fast and excellent work. Treated is like family.

Review Date: 04/06/2016 | Author: Joann B.

Comments: They are very professional and the workmanship is outstanding! The finished project far exceeded our expectations.

Review Date: 04/02/2016 | Author: Steve L.

Comments: I am very happy with the quality of the work and how quick they completed the job. Jim and the crew were all very nice and professional.

Review Date: 10/06/2015 | Author: Jetta F.

Comments: We cannot say enough good things about this top-notch crew! Jim and his crew are very professional, courteous, and trustworthy. They are super easy to work with and very gracious in every way. They arrived on time every day, and worked extremely hard for us. They asked pertinent questions so that our retaining wall was built exactly as we wanted it (they were very easy to communicate with and worked with us very well). The cost of our retaining wall and landscape of our lawn was very reasonable in comparison with other contractors in our area, and the workmanship is outstanding! We are asking Jim and his crew to come back and finish all of our stone work around the house.

Review Date: 09/25/2015 | Author: David F.

Comments: This retaining wall went well using mutual materials northwest blend block and they were 65 lbs a piece. All our family and friends really like how it looks. We did our own backfill and plantings. BSR kept their work area safe and clean and didn&apos;t leave without cleaning up and say they will seeus tomorrow. I would recommend them without hesitation.

Review Date: 08/28/2015 | Author: Phil W.

Comments: Veryt professional and able to make changes to original plan to insure product meets expectations. Great Team!

Review Date: 06/07/2015 | Author: Calvin B.

Comments: Jim was great to work with and held his work to a high standard. Was willing to work on a very short timeline to meet our timeline on getting the yard ready for my daughters wedding.. Would not hesitate to work with BSR again

Review Date: 05/22/2015 | Author: Robert S.

Comments: The work was done on time and within the budget, the crew cleaned the work area each day and at the end of the project

Review Date: 03/27/2015 | Author: Nicholas S.

Comments: The job was done on budget, and within the scheduled amount of time. Jim and the crew were extremely friendly and easy to work with and ensured we were 100% satisfied. It was reassuring to find a company that still placed a high value on customer satisfaction and performing outstanding craftsmanship. Our expectations were exceeded and the price was below other bids we received. We now have a usable backyard to enjoy for years to come and could not be happier. We would strongly recommend BSR and would use them again in the future.

Review Date: 02/23/2015 | Author: Randy A.

Comments: Jim and his crew were excellent to work with, quick response and they started the project in two days. Jim spent a lot of time walking the project and sitting down with us to understand what we were looking for in a design. The design and build of two tiered retaining wall looks amazing, which included stairs in the middle to access my lower yard. Lots of creativity went into the design of 100 foot length wall including curved walls on one side to match my winding sidewalk. We are looking forward to working with BSR construction on other projects in the future.

Review Date: 02/13/2015 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: I hired BSR Construction to replace an existing concrete retaining wall with a block retaining wall. This was a large difficult project that turned out great and am very impressed with the finished product. Initially, we got off on the wrong foot but were able to work through our differences and come to an agreement. Not working with Jim before, I wanted to know exactly what I was paying for. However, after they got started, it was obvious JIm knew what he was doing. Jim is very understanding and does go above and beyond to make sure the customer is happy. I would recommend BRS Construction to anyone needing a retaining wall or dirt work.

Review Date: 01/08/2015 | Author: Alan B.

Comments: Jim was great, from my brief description he knew what we wanted, needed and how to get it done. The crew took his direction and ran with it completing the project in one day. My neighbors are impressed! Would definitely recommend and re-hire. Thanks

Review Date: 10/27/2014 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: ```````Jim was an expert in his field of retaining walls. He worked well with his workers as well as his costumers. He went above and beyond the job. We feel very lucky we hired him for the job.

Review Date: 09/07/2014 | Author: Tony C.

Comments: One of Jim???s many strengths is that he understands how to listen to customers. Jim and his staff consistently impressed us with their willingness to do whatever it took to get the job done, and more importantly, make us happy. Jim also adds an artistic flair to everything he produces. He transformed our useless back yard with an upward slope into a multi-tiered, functional yard that we???ll enjoy for many years. By the way, his paver patio work is brilliant, too. Thank you, Jim. We hope you can fit us into your busy schedule in the future for some additional projects!

Review Date: 06/25/2014 | Author: Rita H.

Comments: outstanding crew of people, highly recommend you hire this group of people. We were so pleased with the finished product and the personable can do attitude. we Are looking to rehire for other projects at our home!!!! Thank you for such a great job!!!!

Review Date: 06/19/2014 | Author: Roger B.

Comments: Response and bid was quick and explained well. Construction begun within the projected time frame and was completed rapidly. All personnel were polite and responsive. They successfully finished the project with minimal disruption to my neighbors.

Review Date: 06/14/2014 | Author: Angie D.

Comments: Jim and his employees are the best. They did an excellent job on the retaining wall and stairs.They also installed a new drain system to keep water from our septic tank and lower yard. Won&apos;t know how well it works till the rainy season but it should work just fine. Will definitely call them back when we are ready to have more work done!

Review Date: 05/24/2014 | Author: Kenny F.

Comments: nice job

Review Date: 04/20/2014 | Author: Sue K.

Comments: My project involved the replacement of (3) 80&apos; rotted railroad beam retaining walls with Northwest Blend block wall. I felt Jim&apos;s passion for this type of work from the first time we met. His vision transformed our backyard. To access the area, the crew had to come through our neighbor&apos;s property. The neighbor&apos;s were very impressed with the care taken to restore their yard after the project was completed. The job was on budget, on time, and exceptionally well done. A 5 Star Rating does not begin to reflect the professionalism and work ethic of Jim and his crew.

Review Date: 01/14/2014 | Author: David K.

Comments: Jim and his crew did an exceptional job replacing my retaining wall. The project was on budget and completed on time as promised even in the bad weather! Thanks again!

Review Date: 09/15/2013 | Author: Richard H.

Comments: In August of 2013 BSR Construction built a retaining wall for me. Just last week Jim Collen the owner of BSR Construction did something unusual for a Contractor, he stopped by my house to confirm everything was OK after 1 year from completion, and even made some minor adjustments to the wall. He deserves 5 stars for his dedication to the job.

Review Date: 08/13/2013 | Author: Jennifer W.

Comments: This was a relatively small job (20-30 foot long, 2-3 feet high). Jim did a great job from the time we met, to completing the job on-budget and fast. My only critique is that I didn&apos;t have a specific plan, so the wall was not as curved as I expected, and it did not curve in to the sidewalk as we had discussed. It looks wonderful, my neighbors are extremely happy with it, and all the concrete rubble that had been a make-shift wall is gone!

Review Date: 07/15/2013 | Author: Steven S.

Comments: On time...On budget...Jim did a fantastic job. Our retaining walls are everything we hoped they would be..!!

Review Date: 06/28/2013 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: They did a great job.

Review Date: 04/06/2013 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: FRIENDLY

Review Date: 03/31/2013 | Author: Bob S.

Comments: Just excellent, knew what was needed and total mutual understandings from the get go to the finish. Insightful and accommodating.

Review Date: 10/31/2012 | Author: Mike L.

Comments: It is with great pleasure that I am allowed the opportunity to share our experience re: Jim Collen dba BSR Construction. He is a real professional. A definite credit to his profession and the construction industry!! Customer Service is his number one priority! He definitely has proven that!! Not only does he &quot;talk the talk,&quot; but more importantly he, &quot;walks the walk!!&quot; He goes above and beyond to ensure your needs and wants are met! He&apos;s highly credible, reliable, dependable, trustworthy, and HONEST!! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND JIM dba BSR Construction!! A Great Professional and a wonderful person!! On behalf of mom and me, Thanks Again Jim!!

Review Date: 10/14/2012 | Author: Maureen A.

Comments: you guys were great and alot of fun to work with! I only wish I had more $$ to do the other side of the house!! I&apos;ll be sure to call on you and recomend you to anyone who asks .my neighbors were wowed!! maureen

Review Date: 07/23/2012 | Author: Kc S.

Comments: Rock Wall looks great! Drains are wonderful and works great. Thank You. Karen Slater and DJ

Review Date: 06/25/2012 | Author: Zachary J.

Comments: Fantastic Job. Jim totally transformed our yard. The retaining wall is well built, very sturdy and looks great.

Review Date: 06/04/2012 | Author: Greg A.

Comments: BSR looked at my projects for a retaining wall, and knew what was needed to maintain within the height requirments. He did so well that he also made 2 planters for my back yard patio. BSR worked fast and professional. He listened towhat I wanted for my projects and made excellent suggestions for inprovment.

Review Date: 05/28/2012 | Author: Charlene K.

Comments: Polite, on time and easy to work with. Finished the job on time and came back to make answer questions I had. Thank you.

Review Date: 05/23/2012 | Author: Michael R.

Comments: Jim and his crew were amazing workers ... even in terrible weather conditions. They consistently checked-in with us to make sure the project met our expectations and provided ideas that we would not have considered thereby improving the outcome. We were very pleased and would be happy to recommend BSR at any time.

Review Date: 05/04/2012 | Author: Janine S.

Comments: Jim and his crew so exceeded my expectations!!!!! The work was completed in a timely manner, the guys kept the working area clean, and were pleasant to work with. My yard has transformed into a beautiful, workable area. Thanks again!!!

Review Date: 04/07/2012 | Author: Daniel H.

Comments: BSR Construction is a top notch company. My Wife and I are very satisfied with the quality of work performed.

Review Date: 03/13/2012 | Author: Douglas M.

Comments: Made every effort and exceeded in ensuring work was top notch. Very dedicated company!

Review Date: 12/09/2011 | Author: Lou T.

Comments: Very good experience. Prompt, courteous and willing to make minor changes and suggestions after we got started. Fair price. Lou T

Review Date: 09/12/2011 | Author: Michelle I.

Comments: Spent time talking to me about the project, implemented the project and provided updates each day, was extremely reliable, good hearted, worked hard, and cleaned up afterwards. Great Job!

Review Date: 08/23/2011 | Author: Caralyn V.

Comments: Jim is a retaining wall genius!!! He and his team did a phenomenal job designing and building the retaining wall. He worked with me the entire time and periodically followed up to verify that we were happy with his work. He did not nickle-and-dime us with any minor changes; he was right on target with the quote! He was on time, within budget, and defect free! He gave us what we wanted, when we wanted it 100% of the time. We interviewed three other prospective contractors, and he sets himself apart through his experience, know-how, creativity, and customer service. Because of his exceptional work, we have already hired him again!

Review Date: 06/15/2011 | Author: Lia W.

Comments: Jim&apos;s a nice guy.

Review Date: 05/11/2011 | Author: Mathew V.

Comments: BSR completed the project in a timely fashion and their work is excellent

Review Date: 04/13/2011 | Author: Loretta L.

Comments: very responsible!

Review Date: 09/16/2010 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Professional and passionate about his work. Has lots of ideas to share. Very timely and service oriented.

Review Date: 09/16/2010 | Author: Clint F.

Comments: Simply Amazing. Turned my backyard into a space I will be able enjoy for many years to come. Professional, efficient, and creative. They worked within my budget and went beyond what I could have ever invisioned.

Review Date: 09/12/2010 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Jim had a difficult job of working with a neighbor on this wall. He managed to professionally complete this job and left the neighbors property in good condition. I was very pleased with his work.

Review Date: 08/06/2010 | Author: Andy K.

Comments: A great and hardworking crew! Started on time and built two large retaining walls ahead of schedule. Cleaned up the job site thoroughly and trimmed some tall trees with no extra charge! Will hire again. Thanks BSR!

Review Date: 03/11/2010 | Author: Tony P.

Comments: I had 11 large trees (Douglas fir) downed and a gravel driveway put in. Jim, the owner, is a really nice guy that did a really good job. Friendly, professional, prompt. He also brought in a subcontractor - Backhome Tree Service. That owner, Charles, also did a great job dropping really large trees right next to my cedar fence -- with no problems. I&apos;d recommend either anytime.

Review Date: 01/29/2010 | Author: Lilly S.

Comments: Brush and Stump removal went above and beyond our expectations! Professional and thorough they replaced a chain-link fence with beautiful cedar and built a retaining wall which leveled our property. They also created an off alley parking area for our vehicles. The personal touches (relocating our rose bushes, for example) craftsmanship and attention to detail were extraordinary. We highly recommend this company and have passed the good word onto friends who have house projects that require a highly professional team. Estimates on target and quite reasonable rates, too!

Review Date: 08/17/2009 | Author: Sharon O.

Comments: Jim, the owner, was our contact. He was prompt, courteous and we accepted his estimate. He started when he said he would and finished when he said he would. He had excellent ideas which we incorporated. He did a little extra work and did not charge more. He &amp; his workmen were a treat to be around and they cleaned up when they were finished. We like our retaining wall and would reccommend them highly. They even gave us photos of the work they did!

Review Date: 04/17/2009 | Author: Jana J.

Comments: Excellent job! Very affordable. Love my wall! Thanks Jim!

Review Date: 04/16/2009 | Author: David P.

Comments: Recomended him to the neighbor and he did there driveway already,Did a great job on mine as well.Great job and a fair price.

Review Date: 12/15/2008 | Author: James K.

Comments: Jim is a real professional and work with me on several issues that came up and found solutions to them to my satisfaction, he was always easy to reach for information to what he was doing and why,I have to say it was a enjoyable experance. Thank You Jim.

Review Date: 10/14/2008 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: very happy with the results. project was completed in a timely manner. would hire him again if the need arose.

Review Date: 09/23/2008 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Our back yard now has a purpose, and is not just a toilet for the dogs. Now we can function in the entire space, and it has expanded our living space to the great-outdoors.

Review Date: 07/25/2008 | Author: Dean M.

Comments: Professional. Arrives to work as agreed and promptly. Completes projects on time. Listens to directions and provides feedback. Compentently communicates ideas and intentions.

Review Date: 07/16/2008 | Author: Phill G.

Comments: I was very happy with the work that Jim and his crew did on relandscaping my gardens and borders. Project was completed on time and budget and looks fantastic. I recommend them to anyone.

Review Date: 06/10/2008 | Author: Daniel B.

Comments: Jim and his crew did a great job - the retaining wall looks fantastic, they were on time, professional and took great care of the surrounding environment. Additionally, Jim was very friendly, professional and an absolute pleasure to work with. I was extremely pleased with the results - I would highly recommend Jim.

Review Date: 02/25/2008 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Good workers and clean!

Review Date: 02/11/2008 | Author: Bonnie W.

Comments: Our project was rather complex and completed during extremely poor weather conditions. The project was completed within budget and on time. The contractor was professional yet personable and very interested in feedback during the construction period. I would highly recommend this company to anyone.

Review Date: 09/21/2007 | Author: Jennifer P.

Comments: Excellent job, actually did more than I expected. Really feel like money was well spent and I got my money&apos;s worth. Will definitely use again and refer to friends.

Review Date: 07/10/2007 | Author: Anne W.

Comments: Jim was great and very easy to work with. My yard looks great, a lot more than I ever expected. I would recommend Brush and Stump to everyone for there yard/landscaping needs.

Review Date: 08/19/2015 | Author: Ralph S.

Comments: He was really easy to work with.